When High Down Schools federated we formed a single Board of Governors working on behalf of both schools. The governing body has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement.

Current Board of Governors

Mrs Sonia Goddard (Chair)

Mr Rob Audain (Vice Chair)                          Mrs Andreya Cowan

Mrs Penny Atherton                                        Mrs Heather Kirkpatrick

Mr Joe Lee

Cllr Sue Mason                                                  Mrs Sue Parker

Mr Ron Steven                                                   Mr Rhodri Hopkins

Mrs Francoise Johnstone                                Mrs Charlotte Birkett

Mrs Gail Meacock                                              Mr Ben Culverhouse (Staff Governor)

Ms Beckie Collard                                              Mr Nolan Hibberd

Mrs Monette DeBaun Stransom

Clerk to Governors Pam Skinner

You can contact the Chair of Governors via the school office – 01275 843969

or  email:

Parent Governor Vacancy

We currently have a vacancy for a Parent Governor: please see the information below for how to apply.  The application deadline is 3.30 pm on Thursday 5 July 2018.

  • What Does a Governor Do?
  • Parent Governor Vacancy Letter and Form
  • Governor Ineligibility Information

To find out more information of the above take a look at the downloads below.

Monitoring and evaluating the work of a school play a major role for a governing body.  At High Down, we have a detailed monitoring schedule which is very closely linked to the School Improvement Plan.  Maths, literacy, pupil premium provision to name but a few form a large part of monitoring visits carried out by the governors.  These visits ensure the governors have a detailed understanding of the life and workings of the school and are able to both support and challenge the senior leadership team.

Get in Touch

High Down Schools
Down Road, Portishead
Bristol BS20 6DY