Term Dates and School Times

HIGH DOWN SCHOOLS TERM DATES 20/21 are

The school year is 195 days and includes five in-service days used for staff training.

  • Term 1 – Tuesday 1 September 2020 to Friday 23 October 2020

  • Term 2 – Monday 2 November 2020 to Friday 18 December 2020

  • Term 3 – Monday 4 January 2021 to Friday 12 February 2021

  • Term 4 – Monday 22 February 2021 to Thursday 1 April 2021

  • Term 5 – Monday 19 April 2021 to Friday 28 May 2021

  • Term 6 – Monday 7 June 2021 to Wed 21 July 2021

INSET DAYS FOR 20/21

Tuesday 1st September 2020

Friday 23rd October 2020

Monday 2nd November 2020

Monday 4th January 2021

Monday 8th March 2021

Friday 28th May 2021

Due to a recent change in the law, headteachers cannot authorise holidays in term time unless in exceptional circumstances. Family holidays are not deemed by law to be exceptional circumstances.  Families will run the risk of being fined if they do decide to take their children out of school in term time.  If you have any queries regarding this, please speak to Mrs Cowan.
Holiday In-Term Time Policy

 

INFANT SCHOOL TIMES

School starts          8:50am

Break                        10.35am – 10.55am

Lunch break          12.00 noon – 1.15 pm

School closes         3.15 pm

Children must be in school for registration, which takes place at 8.55am PROMPTLY.  The cloakroom doors will be open at 8.50 am in order to allow the children to take off their coats and organise their lunch boxes.  Lessons commence immediately after registers have been taken.

If children arrive after registration has taken place they will be deemed to be late.  However, if they are more than 45 minutes after they will be marked as an unauthorised absence.

JUNIOR SCHOOL TIMES 

School starts  8.50am (Children can arrive at school from 8.40am – please note gates are locked until this time)

Break                 10.40am – 11am

Lunch break   12.10pm – 1.10pm

School closes  3.20pm

Registration will take place at 8.55am PROMPTLY.

If children arrive after registration has taken place they will be deemed to be late.  However, if they are more than 45 minutes after they will be marked as an unauthorised absence.

The time of the morning break may be altered as the need arises. Throughout lunchtime supervisory assistants are on duty.

Children must not leave the school during any break time of their own accord.

Responsibility for pupils on the premises is only accepted for ten minutes on either side of the official starting and finishing times.  Therefore all children should vacate the school grounds promptly, unless the children are taking part in a planned school activity.

Get in Touch

High Down Schools
Down Road, Portishead
Bristol BS20 6DY