Term Dates and School Times

HIGH DOWN SCHOOLS TERM DATES 22/23

The school year is 195 days and includes five in-service days used for staff training.

  • Term 1 – Thursday 01 September 2022 to Friday 21 October 2022         

  • Term 2 – Monday 31 October 2022 to Friday 16 December 2022

  • Term 3 – Tuesday 03 January 2023 to Friday 10 February 2023

  • Term 4 – Monday 20 February 2023 to Friday 31 March 2023

  • Term 5 – Monday 17 April 2023 to Friday 26 May 2023

  • Term 6 – Monday 05 June 2023 to Friday 21 July 2023

INSET DAYS FOR 22/23

Thursday 1st September 2022

Friday 2nd September 2022

Monday 31st October 2022 – Trust INSET for primary 

Tuesday 3rd January 2023

Monday 5th June 2023

Due to a recent change in the law, headteachers cannot authorise holidays in term time unless in exceptional circumstances. Family holidays are not deemed by law to be exceptional circumstances.  Families will run the risk of being fined if they do decide to take their children out of school in term time.  If you have any queries regarding this, please speak to Mrs Cowan.
Holiday In-Term Time Policy

INFANT SCHOOL 

Drop-off and pick-up arrangements from September

Just a reminder of where you should drop your child off and where to pick them up from in September:

New Y1: Infant front playground

New Y2: Infant back playground

Nursery am:  8.45-11.45   Drop off at front Nursery gate, pick up from conservatory

Nursery pm:  12.30-3.30  Drop off at conservatory, pick up from Nursery gate

If children arrive after registration has taken place they will be deemed to be late.  However, if they are more than 45 minutes after they will be marked as an unauthorised absence.

JUNIOR SCHOOL 

Drop-off and pick-up arrangements from September

Just a reminder of where you should drop your child off and where to pick them up from in September:

New Y3 and 4: Junior top playground

New Y5 and 6: Junior bottom playground.

If children arrive after registration has taken place they will be deemed to be late.  However, if they are more than 45 minutes after they will be marked as an unauthorised absence.

The time of the morning break may be altered as the need arises. Throughout lunchtime supervisory assistants are on duty.

Children must not leave the school during any break time of their own accord.

Responsibility for pupils on the premises is only accepted for ten minutes on either side of the official starting and finishing times.  Therefore all children should vacate the school grounds promptly, unless the children are taking part in a planned school activity.

Get in Touch

High Down Schools
Down Road, Portishead
Bristol BS20 6DY